Don’t ya just love the word BUT. Dr Phil reckons the word but says, ‘I just told you what you want to hear but now I’m going to tell you what I really think’! How true is that. For example:

I’m loving doing this blog but only 1 person is commenting! (Why the hell aren’t they communicating with me.)
I love you but you’re really pissing me off at the moment. (You’re really pissing me off at the moment.)
I think you’re doing the right thing but maybe you could go about it in a different way. (What are you, stupid!)
You look great in that outfit but I like you in the other one better.ย (You’re not going out in that are you!)

And then there’s the conversational but. “Why on earth are you wearing thoseย undies?!” “Coz they’re all I’ve got.” “They need to go in the bin.” “Yeah I know, I need new ones but we can’t really afford them at the moment.” That’s when you know you’ve been hit by the manipulation but!! And if you’re anything like me you don’t like to be told ‘we can’t afford it’! Sure, it may be true but I’m up for the challenge (translation – don’t tell me what to do)! New undies *mutter mutter* I’ll give you new undies *mutter mutter*……………………..

